Perry Severe Watches & Warnings NOAA Weather Radio

Freeze Warning
Statement as of 10:34 AM CDT en Octubre 31, 2014

...Freeze warning in effect from 5 am EDT /4 am CDT/ to 10 am EDT /9 am CDT/ Saturday... ...Freeze warning in effect from 11 PM EDT /10 PM CDT/ Saturday to 9 am EST /8 am CST/ Sunday...

The National Weather Service in Louisville has issued a freeze warning...which is in effect from 5 am EDT /4 am CDT/ to 10 am EDT /9 am CDT/ Saturday. A freeze warning has also been issued from 11 PM EDT /10 PM CDT/ Saturday to 9 am EST /8 am CST/ Sunday. The freeze watches are no longer in effect.

* Temperatures...readings will fall to around the freezing mark Saturday morning. Colder readings are expected Sunday morning as The Heart of a much colder airmass moves across the Ohio Valley. Expect temperatures to drop into the 20s for many locations.

* Timing...breezy conditions tonight will keep readings from falling too fast. Freezing temperatures should begin a few hours before daybreak and continue past sunrise. Calmer conditions Saturday night will mean a quicker drop in temperatures...with some locations reaching the freezing mark late Saturday evening.

* Impacts...the freezing temperatures this weekend should bring an effective end to the growing season.

Precautionary/preparedness actions...

A freeze warning means sub-freezing temperatures are imminent or highly likely. These conditions will kill crops and other sensitive vegetation.

Rjs

Special Statement
Statement as of 11:23 AM CDT en Octubre 31, 2014

...First snow of the winter season expected for much of the area tonight and early Saturday morning...

A strong weather disturbance will drop southward out of Canada and down through the Ohio Valley later today and tonight. This feature will bring widespread rain showers and windy conditions to the area. Northwest winds of 15 to 20 mph with gusts of 30 to 35 mph will be possible this afternoon and tonight. Much colder air will filter into the region tonight resulting in the rain showers changing over to snow showers before diminishing late tonight. Some bands of moderate snow may develop over portions of central Kentucky. While this snow will be fighting relatively warm ground temperatures...an inch or less of slushy snow on grass and elevated surfaces will be possible in areas east of a line from Frankfort to Albany Kentucky. In areas out toward I-65 and points west...little...if any...snow accumulation is expected.

With temperatures falling into the 30s tonight and winds gusting into the 25 to 30 mph range...wind chill readings will make it feel like it is in the 20s this evening.

Stay tuned to NOAA all hazards weather radio and your local media for the latest on this winter weather situation.